14. January 2020 · Press release

Alga of the Year 2020: Chromera velia, autonomous relative of prominent parasites

The alga Chromera velia lives associated with corals in the Australian Great Barrier Reef. It is related to parasites such as the pathogen that causes malaria, however, the alga can live without a host, whereas parasites are dependent upon their hosts for survival. Chromera velia combines the lifestyles of free-living algae and parasites and thus helps to understand the evolution of pathogens. Algal researchers from the German Society for Plant Sciences (DBG) have curated Chromera velia as Alga of the Year 2020.

Photos | Contacts for the media | Literature and Links | Futher Information

Researchers isolated the alga Chromera velia from stony corals they found in Sydney Harbor, off Magnetic Island, and One Tree Island in the Great Barrier Reef. They were in fact looking for other already known algae that live closely with the corals. By coincidence, they discovered an unknown species, which, despite superficial similarity with the sought-after algae, differed from them in many properties. The biologists named the new alga Chromera velia in 2008.

Chromera velia and the corals, relationship status unclear

While the algae that usually live in symbiosis with the corals do this to their mutual benefit, the relationship between Chromera velia and the corals is rather uncertain. Most of the corals in the sea are free of Chromera velia. If young coral larvae are brought together with Chromera velia in the laboratory, the algae colonize the outer tissue of the coral. After a few days however, the coral larvae are free of the alga again. This is different from the algae living in symbiosis with corals, which permanently colonize the corals from the inside via their stomach.

In the laboratory, Chromera velia grows and reproduces easily in artificial seawater, so it is not dependent on the corals. All Chromera velia cultures in the world have been obtained from coral samples, and the alga has never been observed freely in the ocean. Therefore, it is likely that there is a symbiotic relationship between Chromera velia and the corals, but the exact nature of this relationship remains unknown.

Relative of dangerous parasites

Based on its genetic fingerprint and other traits, the newly discovered algae turned out to be related to a group of unicellular organisms called Apicomplexa. This group contains many parasitic pathogens, including the causative agents of malaria and toxoplasmosis. Many people fall ill or die from malaria, which is transmitted by mosquitoes. The toxoplasmosis pathogen can be dangerous to unborn children during pregnancy and is transmitted to humans from cats. Chromera velia was found to be the closest photosynthetic relative of these unicellular parasites, and it is actually a closer relative of Apicomplexa than to the closest related group of algae, the dinoflagellates. The dinoflagellates include, for example, the above-mentioned algae living in symbiosis with corals, or the Alga of the Year 2013, Lingulodinium polyedrum, which causes the milky seas effect.

Puzzle piece between photosynthesis and parasitism

The relationship between Chromera velia and the parasitic Apicomplexa gives indications of the origin of the pathogens. “The parasitic Apicomplexa evolved from free-living algae, although this seems quite unnecessary. Algae perform photosynthesis, they grow from light, CO2, and water. However, parasites depend on nutrients from their hosts for their growth. Chromera velia helps us to understand this switch in lifestyle. It is an alga, but at the same time it has a lot in common with the parasitic Apicomplexa,” explains algal researcher Dr. Ansgar Gruber. He is a member of the Phycology (algal research) Section of the DBG.

Knowing the similarities and differences between Chromera velia, the parasitic Apicomplexa, and their hosts also allows developing new therapies against pathogens. A similarity between Chromera velia and the parasitic Apicomplexa is the presence of a cell component called chloroplast. The alga uses the chloroplast for photosynthesis. In the Apicomplexa, however, this chloroplast is highly reduced. They do not need it for photosynthesis, but for other metabolic pathways. Humans and animals have no chloroplasts. “The reduced chloroplast of the Apicomplexa is an exposed target, a point where they are vulnerable, which we do not have,” says Gruber. The reduced chloroplasts of Apicomplexa are therefore interesting as potential targets for new drugs against malaria and toxoplasmosis; similar to antibiotics, which only work in bacteria, but not in human cells. The chloroplasts of Chromera velia, which is easy to cultivate in the laboratory, are therefore a centre of attention.

Unique genetic code proves common origin

A co-discoverer of the close relationship between Chromera velia and the Apicomplexa is Prof. Miroslav Oborník, who is a researcher at the Institute of Parasitology in the Czech Academy of Sciences in Budweis. Oborník examined the genetic code of Chromera velia. The genetic code defines how genetic information is interpreted during the synthesis of proteins, and in general it is uniform for all organisms. However, Oborník found that the alga Chromera velia uses an alternative genetic code in its chloroplasts. “There is a stop command in a gene that is absolutely necessary for photosynthesis. According to the standard code, this gene could not work at all. But instead of following the stop command, Chromera velia’s protein biosynthesis machinery translates the genetic information of the DNA into a tryptophan amino acid. The same deviation in the genetic code can also be found in the reduced chloroplasts of Apicomplexa. When I noticed this commonality, I was sure that Chromera velia had to be related to the Apicomplexa,” Oborník describes the discovery.

Open questions

Due to the importance of Chromera velia as a relative of devastating parasites, its entire genome was sequenced in 2015. Thanks to the now available data, it could become a model organism for basic research on therapies against malaria and other parasites of the Apicomplexa group. Gruber and Oborník are in contact with researchers from the about 15 groups that work on Chromera velia worldwide. They conduct their research in Budweis, where they are interested in the details of the relationship between Chromera velia and corals, i.e. whether alga or coral benefit from each other or harm each other. “Photosynthesis and parasitism are rarely combined in one organism. Chromera velia could show us why this combination is so unusual,” suspects Gruber. Whether Chromera velia is threatened by the climate change related decline of corals, benefits from weakened corals, or even contributes to coral damage are also exciting questions that still need to be investigated.


The alga Chromera velia under the light microscope. The chloroplasts with the unique genetic code appear golden brown in the light microscope. Image: Miroslav Oborník

09. Jan 2020 · Pressemitteilung

Alge des Jahres 2020: Chromera velia, autonomer Verwandter prominenter Parasiten

Die Alge Chromera velia im Lichtmikroskop. Die Chloroplasten mit dem einzigartigen genetischen Code erscheinen im Lichtmikroskop goldbraun. Aufnahme: Miroslav Oborník

Die Alge Chromera velia lebt im australischen Great Barrier Reef in Gesellschaft von Korallen. Sie ist verwandt mit Parasiten wie den Malaria-Erregern. Die Alge kann jedoch ohne Wirt leben, wohingegen Parasiten von ihren Wirten abhängig sind. Chromera velia verbindet die Lebensweise freilebender Algen mit der von Parasiten. Sie hilft so die Evolution der Krankheitserreger zu verstehen. Algenforscherinnen und Algenforscher der Deutschen Botanischen Gesellschaft (DBG) haben Chromera velia nun zur Alge des Jahres 2020 gewählt.

Fotos | Ansprechpartner | Literatur und Links | Informationen über die Sektion Phykologie

Forschende isolierten die Alge Chromera velia aus Steinkorallen, die sie im Sydney Harbour und vor den Inseln Magnetic Island und One Tree Island im Great Barrier Reef fanden. Eigentlich waren sie auf der Suche nach anderen Algen, die eng mit den Korallen zusammen leben. Dabei entdeckten sie eine bis dato unbekannte Art, die den gesuchten Algen zwar oberflächlich ähnelt, sich jedoch in vielen Eigenschaften deutlich von ihnen unterscheidet. Die Biologinnen und Biologen gaben ihr im Jahr 2008 den Namen Chromera velia.

Chromera velia und die Korallen, Beziehungsstatus unklar

Während die ursprünglich gesuchten Algen mit den Korallen in Symbiose zum beidseitigen Nutzen leben, ist die Beziehung zwischen Chromera velia und den Korallen eher unausgeglichen. Die meisten Korallen im Meer sind frei von Chromera velia. Bringt man im Labor junge Korallenlarven mit Chromera velia zusammen, besiedelt die Alge das äußere Gewebe der Koralle. Nach ein paar Tagen sind die Korallenlarven jedoch wieder frei von der Alge. Das ist anders als bei den in Symbiose mit Korallen lebenden Algen, welche die Koralle über ihren Magen von innen her dauerhaft besiedeln.
Im Labor wächst Chromera velia problemlos in künstlichem Meerwasser. Sie vermehrt sich dort auch ohne Korallen, ist also nicht auf die Korallen angewiesen. Alle auf der Welt vorhandenen Kulturen von Chromera velia wurden aus Proben von Korallen gewonnen, die Alge wurde noch nie frei im Meer beobachtet. Daher ist es zwar wahrscheinlich, dass es eine Beziehung zwischen Chromera velia und den Korallen gibt, was aber genau diese Beziehung ausmacht, ist noch unbekannt.

Verwandtschaft zu gefährlichen Parasiten

Besser untersucht als ihr Verhältnis zu Korallen, sind die Verwandtschaftsverhältnisse der Chromera velia. Aufgrund ihres genetischen Fingerabdrucks und anderer Merkmale entpuppte sich die neu entdeckte Alge als am nächsten mit einer Apicomplexa genannten Gruppe von Einzellern verwandt. Zu diesen gehören unter anderem die parasitisch lebenden Erreger von Malaria und Toxoplasmose. An der von Mücken übertragenen Malaria erkranken und sterben jedes Jahr viele Menschen. Der Toxoplasmose-Erreger kann in der Schwangerschaft ungeborenen Kindern gefährlich werden. Er ist von Katzen auf den Menschen übertragbar. Chromera velia ist der nächste photosynthetisch aktive Verwandte dieser parasitischen Einzeller. Sie ist mit diesen sogar näher verwandt als mit der nächstverwandten Algengruppe, den Panzergeißlern. Zu den Panzergeißlern gehören zum Beispiel die oben genannten in Symbiose mit Korallen lebenden Algen, oder auch die Alge des Jahres 2013, Lingulodinium polyedrum, der Verursacher des Meeresleuchtens.

Puzzlestein zwischen Photosynthese und Parasitismus

Die Verwandtschaft zwischen Chromera velia und den parasitischen Apicomplexa gibt Hinweise auf den Ursprung der Krankheitserreger. „Die parasitischen Apicomplexa haben sich im Laufe der Evolution aus frei lebenden Algen entwickelt, obwohl man meinen sollte, dass eine Alge so etwas gar nicht nötig hätte. Algen betreiben Photosynthese, sie leben von Licht, CO2 und Wasser. Parasiten sind jedoch in der Ernährung auf ihre Wirte angewiesen. Chromera velia hilft uns diesen Wechsel der Lebensweise zu verstehen. Sie ist eine Alge, sie hat aber gleichzeitig viele Gemeinsamkeiten mit den parasitischen Apicomplexa“, erklärt Algenforscher Dr. Ansgar Gruber. Er ist Mitglied in der Sektion Phykologie (Algenforschung) in der DBG.

Die Gemeinsamkeiten und Unterschiede zwischen Chromera velia, den parasitischen Apicomplexa und ihren Wirten zu kennen, ermöglicht es auch neue Therapien gegen Krankheitserreger zu entwickeln. Gemeinsam haben Chromera velia und die parasitischen Apicomplexa einen ähnlichen Zellbestandteil. In der Alge läuft in diesem Chloroplast genannten Zellbestandteil die Photosynthese. In den Apicomplexa ist dieser Chloroplast dagegen stark reduziert. Sie brauchen ihn nicht für die Photosynthese, aber für andere Stoffwechselwege. Menschen und Tiere haben keine Chloroplasten. „Der reduzierte Chloroplast der Apicomplexa bietet ein exponiertes Angriffsziel, einen Punkt an dem sie verwundbar sind, den es bei uns aber nicht gibt“, sagt Gruber. Das macht die reduzierten Chloroplasten der Apicomplexa als potentiellen Wirkungsort für neue Medikamente gegen Malaria- und Toxoplasmose-Erreger interessant. Ähnlich zu Antibiotika, die ihre Wirkung auch nur in Bakterien − nicht jedoch in menschlichen Zellen entfalten. Die Chloroplasten der leicht im Labor zu kultivierenden Chromera velia sind daher in den Fokus der Forschung gerückt.

Einzigartiger genetischer Code belegt nahe Verwandtschaft

Ein Mitentdecker der nahen Verwandtschaft von Chromera velia mit den Apicomplexa ist Prof. Miroslav Oborník, der am Institut für Parasitologie der Tschechischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Budweis forscht. Oborník untersuchte den genetischen Code von Chromera velia. Der genetische Code legt fest, wie genetische Informationen zum Aufbau von Eiweißmolekülen interpretiert werden. Er ist eigentlich für alle Organismen einheitlich. Oborník fand heraus, dass die Alge Chromera velia in ihren Chloroplasten einen alternativen genetischen Code verwendet. „In einem Gen, das für die Photosynthese absolut notwendig ist, befindet sich ein Stopp-Befehl. Gemäß dem Standard Code könnte dieses Gen gar nicht funktionieren. Aber anstatt den Stopp-Befehl auszuführen, übersetzt die Eiweiß bildende Maschinerie von Chromera velia die genetische Information der DNA in eine Tryptophan-Aminosäure. Die gleiche Abweichung im genetischen Code findet sich auch in den reduzierten Chloroplasten der Apicomplexa. Als mir diese Gemeinsamkeit auffiel, war ich mir sicher dass Chromera velia mit den Apicomplexa verwandt sein muss“, schildert Oborník die Entdeckung.

Offene Fragen

Weil Chromera velia ein so bedeutender Organismus ist, wurde im Jahr 2015 ihr komplettes Genom entziffert. Sie könnte Dank der nun vorliegenden Gen-Sequenzen zu einem Modell-Organismus für die Grundlagenforschung werden, an dem Therapien gegen Malaria und andere Parasiten der Apicomplexa-Gruppe getestet werden. Gruber und Oborník stehen dazu im Austausch mit anderen der etwa 15 weltweit an Chromera velia forschenden Gruppen. Zurzeit erforschen sie in Budweis ob und in welcher Beziehung Chromera velia mit Korallen zusammenlebt, also ob etwa Alge oder Koralle voneinander profitieren oder sich schaden. „Photosynthese und Parasitismus sind als Lebensstile nur selten in einem Organismus vereint. Chromera velia könnte uns zeigen, warum diese Kombination so ungewöhnlich ist“, vermutet Gruber. Ob Chromera velia vom klimabedingten Korallensterben bedroht ist, von geschwächten Korallen profitiert oder gar zur Schädigung der Korallen beiträgt, seien ebenfalls spannende Fragen, die es noch zu untersuchen gelte.

Back